Another Year of Success for Dunoon Hill Runners

Saturday 18 February 2017 commenced with the last event of the Dunoon Hill Runners 2016-17 league series, the Handicap Race. Start times were allocated appropriate to each runner based on their season’s performance, and competitors set off chasing each other down on a damp and muddy Glenkin 5K route. First across the finish line was Bryan Fitzpatrick, followed by Lucie Shaw.

Later that day, the AGM and prizegiving were once again held at the Kirn and Hunters Quay Bowling Club. Dunoon Hill Runners Chairman, Ian Marshall, reviewed another successful year, with members continuing to represent the club in both local and national events. Two new committee members were voted into the positions of Secretary and Race Organisation Officer.

The prizegiving came next and included 2 handsome new trophies hand made by Dunoon Grammar School students, Isaac Lines and Elizabeth Stirling. In addition to the official shields and trophies, some light-hearted recognition was given to specific members for their outstanding contributions in the fields of swearing, sob story-telling, weight loss, animal rescue and a special award for heroic efforts in under-training.

List of Prizewinners:
President’s Trophy for Most Inspirational Runner – Ali McCrossan
Most Improved Male Runner (as voted by members) – Bryan Fitzpatrick
Most Improved Female Runner (as voted by members) – Lucie Shaw

Summer League Series:
Senior Male Winner – Ricky Reid
Senior Female Winner – Lucie Noakes
Senior Veteran Male Winner – Roger Stewart
Senior Veteran Female Winner – Morven Walsh

Handicap Race Male – Bryan Fitzpatrick
Handicap Race Female – Lucie Shaw
Handicap Race Overall Male – Grant Mackellar
Handicap Race Overall Female – Lindsay Moss
Vertical KM Male – Ricky Reid
Vertical KM Female – Lucie Noakes
Long Hill Race Male – Ricky Reid
Long Hill Race Female – Ronee McCarthy
Downhill Race Male – Ricky Reid
Downhill Race Female – Morven Walsh

10K Trail Race Male – Grant Mackellar
10K Trail Race Female – Lucie Noakes
Kilbride Hill Race Male – Grant Mackellar
Kilbride Hill Race Female – Lucie Noakes
Medals were also presented to all members who participated in at least 3 league events.

DHR 2017 prizewinners

L to R back: Morven Walsh, Lucie Shaw, Roger Stewart, Grant Mackellar, Bryan Fitzpatrick, Ricky Reid.
L to R front: Ronee McCarthy, Lucie Noakes, Richie Longster

Bookmark the permalink.