Volcano Run 2015 – Race Report

volcanorun_2015Dunoon Hill Runners held its 2nd Annual Volcano Run hosted and sponsored by J Mundell and Sons, Toward Farm. Thanks also to Run 4 it and The Osborne Hotel for their sponsorship and provision of prizes. It is through this support that the club was able to put on another highly successful race.

Approximately 5 miles long, beginning from Toward Farm, the race took the runners up on to an extinct volcano, Buaicheileann, whereupon after reaching the peak at 400 metres, the runners faced a quick descent back to the farm. It was to be an exciting and hotly contested race given that last year’s winner was not there to defend his title (off running a 16 mile fell race over the mountains to Glencoe).

32 runners set off in near perfect conditions, a host of club colours and visiting runners disappearing into the hills. The race did not disappoint as for most of the course Iain Cairns and Grant Mackellar pushed ahead, each at some point taking the lead, with Ricky Reid (just coming off the back of a 43 mile ultra) hot on their heels. It literally came to a sprint finish to split these 2 runners with Iain pipping Grant for first place and smashing last year’s record by 3 minutes. In fact both Grant and Ricky got well within the previous years winning time.

The whole race was a huge success and a lot of personal best times were gained, some by as much as 20 minutes! This is a testimony to all the hard work and training the club runners have been putting in over the past year.

Overall Results

Male Senior

1st: Iain Cairns
2nd: Grant Mackellar
3rd: Ricky Reid

Female Senior

1st: Lindsay Moss
2nd: Emerson Laing
3rd: Sabrina Brolly

Male Vet

1st: Roger Stewart
2nd: Scot Hill
3rd: Charlie Collins

Female Vet

1st: Lisa Marshall
2nd: Kirsty Mundell
3rd: Linda Good


1st: Allan Mollins
2nd: (1st Local) Fraser Witherow
3rd: (2nd Local) Nathan Shields
4th: (3rd Local) Mitchell Nairn

1st: (Local Female) Carla Colquhoun
2nd: Millie Alleyne
3rd: (2nd Local Female) Darcy Cameron
4th: (3rd Local Female) Jessica Marshall

Full results can be found here


Bookmark the permalink.